Mobile Marketing Terms
Lately, the time we spend on mobile applications is getting ahead of other platforms. This situation has also increased the number of mobile application developers and advertisers. Below we have tried to explain the basic terms related to mobile marketing for you.
Some of the terms mentioned below are also used in programming and other digital marketing industries.
A/B Testing
This optimization technique, called A/B testing, is a method that helps the advertiser choose between 2 options. To improve ad performance, two versions of a live campaign item are compared and one can be selected or highlighted based on the result.
Ad Campaign
It is a series of advertisements run by an advertiser. These ads can be used across different platforms, devices and users. can be adjusted according to the needs of their behavior.
Advertiser
An application is a person or business that conducts an advertising campaign to promote its products or services.
API – Application Programming Interface
It is a set of code that allows two software platforms to communicate with each other, used to make more than one program work in harmony.
ARPU – Average Revenue Per User
A term used to measure revenue generated by dividing your total revenue by the number of users.
ASO – App Store Optimization
Just as SEO is the name given to the processes that make your site look better in the search engine, ASO is an optimization process that makes your application look better in App markets.
Banner Ad
They are banner ads in mobile marketing. Images are used to attract users' attention. These types of ads often have small text elements and the least return.
Bounce Rate
It is the name given to the bounce rate. It shows the rate of leaving the application without installing and taking any action.
Burst
It is the name given to a user acquisition strategy that aims to gain as many users as possible in a short period of time.
Churn Rate
Specifies a ratio that indicates how many users left the app in a given period.
Click Spam
It is a mobile ad scam where bot-based script executes unwitting clicks on behalf of users.
CPA – Cost Per Action / Cost Per Acquisition
It is the cost per action, the price the advertiser pays for each occurrence of a certain predetermined action. Unlike CPE, it also covers transactions other than advertising.
CPAU – Cost Per Active User
It is the average cost of acquiring the active user associated with the application through the advertising campaign. It is an important data for learning user quality.
CPC – Cost Per Click
CPC, an important way to measure mobile ad performance. The average cost of a user clicking any ad.
CPCV - Cost Per Completed View
The unit cost that the advertiser pays the publisher for the video ad viewing action that the user "completes".
CPE - Cost Per Engagement
It refers to the unit cost that the advertiser pays the publisher for user interaction with an ad.
CPI – Cost Per Install / Cost Per Impression
The average cost of getting a user to download an app through an advertising campaign.
CPL – Cost Per Lead
It expresses the relationship between the cost of a marketing campaign and the number of leads generated by the campaign efforts.
CPM – Cost Per Thousand (Mille)
The price at which an ad is viewed every 1000 times. (Mille - Latin for thousandth. This percentage is abbreviated as CPM.)
CPPU – Cost Per Paying User
It specifies the relationship between the cost of an advertising campaign and the number of users gained through the campaign and who have somehow paid in the app. It is defined as the total campaign cost divided by the number of paying users.
CPV – Cost Per View
The amount an advertiser pays each time a video is viewed by a user.
CR – Conversion Rate
It represents the ratio of the number of ad impressions to the number of "converted" users, based on predefined campaign goals. The conversion term here can be click, app download, account creation.
CTA – Call to Action
It is the name given to direct the user to another action when an advertisement is clicked. This can take the form of a redirect to a site or app market, or a link to a video.
CTIT - Click to Install Time
It is the time difference between the click to start the installation of the application and the click to open the application.
CTR – Click-through Rate
Shows the percentage of people who clicked on an ad after seeing it. The higher the click-through rate, the better the ad campaign's performance. The click through rate is formulated as follows. (Clicks / Impressions)
DAU – Daily Average Users
Indicates the average number of users using an application on a daily basis.
Direct Traffic
It is the number of visitors who come directly to your app without any referrals or paid activities (advertising, etc.) The high number of direct traffic is an important indicator for your brand value.
DSP – Demand Side Platform
It is a platform that allows advertisers to automate and manage the process of buying ads from multiple publishers and connect with consumers simultaneously through a single interface.
eCPM – Effective Cost Per Mille
It is calculated by dividing total earnings by the total number of impressions per thousand. It is one of the methods used as the most basic performance measure. For example, you earned $150 from an ad that was viewed 100,000 times. Your eCPM is calculated as follows. ($150 / 100,000) × 1,000 = $1.50. "Mille" here means "thousandth" in Latin.
Engagement
It is the process of encouraging new users and passive users to interact with the application.
Freemium
It is a pricing strategy where the app is free but some features are charged.
GAID veya AAID – Google (Android) Advertising Identifier
GAID, also known as the Android Advertising ID, is Google's device identifier used to track conversions and engagement.
Gamification
It is the non-game applications that provide user loyalty by using methods such as earning points in a game.
Geofencing
Geo-restriction is the name given to advertisers restricting their target audience within geographic regions.
IBA - Internet-based Advertising
It is an advertising model that involves monitoring the online activities of consumers to deliver customized advertisements for the user over the Internet.
In-App Ads
In-app ads are ads that run inside apps installed on the user's device.
In-App Purchase
It allows the user to purchase a product or service within the app, unlock app features, etc. It is a model of making money from transactions.
Interstitial Ads
Appears in waypoints in apps (For example, after completing a level in the game). They usually take up the entire screen. Users have to either click on the ad or wait for the closing time to close them .
KPI - Key Performance Indicator
Keyword, phrase..etc. means the performance indicator of the search criteria. It helps in determining the price of the ad campaign based on which advertisers are paying the networks and publishers.
LBS – Location-based Services
It is the service of making use of the user's location information in applications.
LAT - Limit Ad Tracking
It is an option available on Android, iOS and other platforms for users to choose not to share their Device ID with advertisers to limit ad tracking.
Long Tail Keyword
They are long expressions that users use while searching on search platforms (search engine, app market..etc). It is a more specific and detailed query than a keyword.
LTV – Lifetime Value
It refers to the value of the user who makes purchases, clicks on advertisements, etc. during the lifetime of the application.
MAU – Monthly Active Users
The average number of users using an application per month. It is very useful data in measuring application performance. Unlike uploads, measuring active users also allows measuring user engagement over time.
Mobile Ad Fraud
Refers to frauds originating from mobile advertising. It aims to make the user click more or the advertiser pay more.
Monetization
It is the ability of the application to generate income. Monetization can be from e-commerce, premium content, advertising or some other form of revenue generation.
Native Ad
These ads have higher conversion rates but fewer clicks. This is because native ads attract fewer but higher quality users.
Native App
It is an application developed for a specific device or platform. These types of applications often offer a better user experience than other development models.
NPS - Net Promoter Score
It is a metric used to measure the user's commitment to the application. Usually this is rated on a scale of 1 to 10.
Non-incent Traffic
It is traffic that is generated without any incentive. An example of this is the number of users coming from ads without rewards.
Omnichannel Marketing
It is an omnichannel marketing strategy. Specifies that the advertiser reaches the customer online and offline.
Optimization
Ad optimization is the process of making advertising campaigns more efficient. How to get the most out of your ad spend by identifying effective traffic sources, loyal users, etc. way of taking advantage.
Organic Installs
Organic installs mean any application installation that is not tied to a specific source (advertising, etc.). Measuring organic installs is a crucial parameter for mobile advertisers.
OS – Operating System
The most well-known mobile operating systems are Android and iOS. It is the platform on which the devices are run.
Publisher
In terms of marketing, publishers are applications that display advertisements. Many apps are both publishers and advertisers. Publishing game companies are also given this name. It is the subject of a separate article.
Ranking Algorithm
It is the algorithm that determines the ranking of applications in the App Markets. Although the exact formulas are not known, it is estimated that it depends on the number of downloads, user interaction, size and user comments.
Re-engagement
Turning users into paying customers by targeting those who have shown interest in the app but haven't converted. This is often to target users who have downloaded an app but haven't registered an account or made an initial purchase.
Retention
The percentage of users still using the app, usually one or more days after the app is installed. The first few days after a user installs an app are crucial for mobile developers. Because the application removal rates are the highest during this period.
ROAS – Return on Advertising Spend
It is an advertising campaign defined as revenue divided by expenditure. Values less than one indicate less revenue than spent on advertising.
ROI – Return on Investment
It is a measure of the return on (investment) of paid advertising campaigns as gains or losses.
Scheduled Campaigns
They are campaigns planned by advertisers as time. This can be repeated over a period of time or just once.
SDK – Software Development Kit
It is a set of development tools used by programmers to create programs for a particular platform. The feature to the platform provides additional functionality for application developers. For mobile advertisers, the SDK is integrated into the code of the application by the developer to track predefined events (purchases, impressions..).
Session
It refers to the state in which the user interacts with your application.
Session Length
The duration of a user's session in your application.
Targeting
It is the process of segmenting potential users by various parameters to optimize the results of advertising campaigns.
Time of Inactivity
Inactivity time is the time that the user does not perform any activity in the application.
Tracker
Information collected from the user's device to analyze user behavior.
UA – User Acquisition
It is an advertising campaign strategy that aims to grow by gaining new users.
UDID – Unique device identifier
It is a unique 40-digit alphanumeric serial number that is defined for each device with the operating system IOS.
UI – User Interface
It means user interface. It is the command and control set with which a user communicates with the program.
UX – User Experience
Specifies all aspects of the user's interaction with an application.
Visibility
It is a scoring method that measures how visible an app is in app stores.
VTC – View Through Conversion
Indicates users who saw an ad, didn't click it, but downloaded it later.
VTR – View Through Rate
It is the number of completed views of the ad that can be skipped based on the number of first impressions.
Zero Cost Strategy
It is a marketing method where the user and the application owner meet without direct cost.